Driving on a Suspended License
The realities of life in Arizona, even in its larger metro areas such as Phoenix and surrounding cities, make it difficult to get around without driving. Our cities are widespread, with many people living significant distances from where they work. This makes a suspended license more than just an annoyance. However, if you are caught driving on a suspended license, you face a variety of penalties, including possible jail time, fines, and having your vehicle impounded.
What Are the Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License?
Anyone knowingly operating a vehicle on a suspended license faces class one misdemeanor charges, with fines up to $2,500 and up to six months in jail. The officer may also choose to impound your vehicle for up to 30 days. To get your vehicle out of impound, you must pay the towing fees (amount determined by the towing company), as well as the impound lot’s storage fee. In Phoenix, this amounts to $15 per day, in addition to an administrative fee of $150. Towing fees vary.
There is no mandatory sentence for driving on a suspended license in Arizona; much depends on the reason your driver’s license was suspended. Penalties increase, however, with subsequent occurrences. For a first offense, jail time is rare, although probation is possible. Subsequent convictions carry much harsher penalties:
- 2nd offense: 5 days, on average
- 3rd offense: 30 days, on average
- 4th offense: 90 days, on average
- 5th offense: six months, on average
How Can Liberty Law Protect You?
The team at Liberty Law has experience fighting traffic violations in Arizona courtrooms. You deserve to have someone fighting for your rights. Call us today for a free consultation to determine your next steps.